The Hospital Chronicles – Final Gastro Appointment

Firstly, I am AMAZED by the response I’ve received from so many people since the blog was shared by Disabled Muslims Network on Facebook. Being the geek that I am, I happily (and quite excitedly!) watched the number of visitors and views creep up. I hope everyone who read the blog took at least one thing away so I can gain maximum reward inshaAllah!
And an extra special thank you to those lovely people who subscribed, commented and messaged. I had been thinking that maybe I’m being too moany and things need to change, but this has convinced me to leave the posts as they are. So thank you.

I’ve been awake for 32 hours now so forgive me if I start waffling!

I had a hospital appointment today, to see a consultant in the gastroenterology department. There’s probably a fancy explanation for that somewhere but it’s basically something to do with your guts.

I started off with the usual weight check and being taken to another waiting room. Then I went to see my consultant – who’s a lovely man, May Allah guide him to Islam – and he told me that as we’ve been through every drug option, there’s nothing else left to try. The only thing worth considering is surgery. Which I already knew. So we said our goodbyes and hoped that we wouldn’t see each other again. (As that would mean that something was wrong!) I thanked him for everything he’s done for me. He’s one of the few consultants I’ve come across who actually care – him and a bunch of others tried everything in their power to try and get me some funding for the drug I needed, even though they knew that it would be difficult. In the end, they managed to secure three doses alhamdulillah although it was too late as my body had started fighting it. It’s stopped working now but it was good while it lasted.
And my appointment was over. It’s got to be the fastest consultation for me, ever.
I was a teeny weeny bit disappointed though… I thought there’d be a blood test involved (there has been every other time) so I drank a litre of water before I went, to hydrate myself and coax my veins out of hiding. The result? I was bouncing around in my chair in the waiting room, dying for a wee and not wanting to go in case my name was called!

I quite like our hospital. It’s very new so everything is all shiny and fresh. It’s designed like an airport to make it feel welcoming and spacious. I did put a suggestion forward that they should have loyalty cards but I didn’t hear anything back. Which is a shame, really. It feels like I spend half my life in there so I might as well earn some rewards!

I took a few pictures:

 

Atrium

Atrium

Hospital atrium

Hospital atrium

 

I came home from the hospital and had a very short rest and then it was time for me to visit the Masjid. I’m supposed to go in every few days to check that our classes are running smoothly but I don’t always manage.

I set up the girls classes a few years ago by the Grace of Allah and had to leave after a while until I felt better. I haven’t actually felt well enough to teach yet, but the management seem to think that it’s a good idea for me to stay on, even if I’m not able to do anything. And the girls are always making me cards which is lovely!

You can imagine how exhausted I was by the time I got home. I thought I was going to collapse as I walking down the road but alhamdulillah I didn’t. I made it home in one piece, my wobbly legs and cotton wool brain intact. Alhamdulillah.

I’m trying to have an early night as I have weekend classes to teach. It’s what keeps me going, passing on this Sacred Knowledge and hoping for the reward.

And finally, today’s bag:

image

 

I’m not usually a fan of the whole ‘Keep Calm and….’ thing but I needed this as I was feeling VERY grumpy this morning!

As always, feel free to leave a comment or drop me an email at gutlessninja@hotmail.com

Take care everyone, Assalamualaykum!!

2 thoughts on “The Hospital Chronicles – Final Gastro Appointment

  1. Subhanallah ukhti i love your blog.

    I kinda agree since most of the patients there will always be in the hospital why not making loyalty card. Is good for the hospitàl too theyll get good recommendations and good review out of it. Plus it will be easier for the staffss to recognise regular patients and they dont have to double their tasks.

    Take care girl. I am so sorry for mistaken you with my other friend. I remember your blog is just that i have some issues with the friend lol. And waiting for her to start the chat lol.

    Xoxoxo

    Wassallam May Allah keeps you specially in everyone’s dua. Aminn

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

